lost & found KISS footage Detroit ’96

96KISSOn the end of a bootleg KISS VHS I got somewhere was this left over footage from an MTV cam covering the Tiger Stadium Reunion Tour kickoff in Detroit in 1996.

My favorite part of it is the walk to the stage in which the guys seem almost serene compared to the shots we are about to see of the KISS Army’s finest in a pit of sheer bedlam in front of the stage.   It reminds me of the clones in Phantom Of The Park as they take the stage like zombies as the real KISS are detained below in Devereaux’s laser-beam enabled underground bunker.

Naturally Gene & Paul lead they way after Doc McGhee beckons “together for the walk guys, together for the walk”. After all, it is their asses on the line but it’s kinda cool to see Ace and Peter hang back like brothers about to climb on a rock & roll roller coaster all over again.

You can feel the excitement as the camera man or woman then runs around to the front of the stage and we hear them being warned by someone that the curtain that is going to drop “is going to come right down on you” (if you don’t move now.)

When the band hits the stage we get a front o’ barricades view of the fall-out as smoke billows, Paul shuffles Peter plods and Ace’s guitar straps pops off. Here we are, one minute into what would become a 5 or 6 year run and Ace is already experiencing turbulence. Remember the gravity here on earth is …..

How me and my bro never made it to mecca for the KISS concert of a lifetime baffles us to this day but I do recall we tuned into to MTV that night for the clip updates culled from this very same footage.

One thought on “lost & found KISS footage Detroit ’96

  1. I will never forget the moment I saw the press conference onboard the USS Intrepid, flash up on the screens in the Foot Locker I happened to be in at the time. There was no sound, but when I saw the four of them walk out, and sit behind their respective name tags… I just sort of froze. I was with my ex-girlfriend at the time, and she kept asking me to look at the sneakers she had tried on. But, I was unable to look away from the sight I had dreamed of for many years, but never thought I would see.
    It was about two minutes before I responded to her agitated banter. All I could do was point at the screens in absolute awe. She hardly understood, and came off with something like, ‘Oh great, the old guys finally stopped acting like children. Something else for me to fucking compete against…’
    I don’t know how long we were together after that moment, but she wasn’t my girlfriend, when my old man and I went to Toronto, to catch their show at the SkyDome. It was something I’ll never forget, and definitely one of the most anticipated moments of my life.
    I would see them once again, at the tail end of that mega-successful, worldwide tour-de-force, in Vancouver. I had a new girlfriend by then, and even though she wasn’t much of a KISS fan, lost it when Paul zip-lined out to the centre of the arena, and within ten feet of our seats. She screamed quite loudly as she shoved me out of the way, and charged the security fences which surrounded the small stage. Paul caught a glimpse of this starstruck crazy person bearing down on him, and flinched a bit, but quickly relaxed as a security guard about five times the size of my ex, grabbed her, and carried her back over to her seat. He requested that I ensure that she didn’t get past me again, or she would be out. I made sure she didn’t… Because I had no interest in a fight, due to the fact I stayed inside, while she was tossed… Which is totally what would have happened…

Leave a Reply

